Tracking my Progress with ID Life

So I’m way overdue for an update on my success with ID Life.  And you might be thinking I gave up or wasn’t having any success but you would be WRONG!  Obviously weight and struggles that come with it are a little more personal so it has taken me a while to find my voice, so to speak.

I’m just going to go ahead and get the hardest part out there:

Here is me right before I started on the left and me tonight – a little over 6 weeks after I started.

photo-4

 

This is an ongoing work in progress but I would like to share some things in hopes that they will help you!

First, I overhauled my diet right before I started ID Life.  I tried to get rid of all of the processed foods in my diet and am trying to eat only meats and fish that are not enhanced with hormones.  I said this in an earlier blog entry but although I started out with weight loss as my goal, I felt so much better from making the dietary change that how I felt became my primary focus even about weight loss.  I believed and still believe that if I operate from that vantage point, I have a better chance of sticking with it than if my primary focus is weight loss because we all know that can be hit or miss.  But I also believed and still believe that if I follow the “feel better” path, weight loss will be a nice secondary benefit.

Second, at the same time I started ID Life, I started Pilates.  I am working out about 4 – 5 times a week.  I am not supplementing my Pilates with anything else because even after 6 weeks, I am still exhausted and my muscles are fatigued that I need some rest in between.  I am not an expert so I can’t say what impact 4 or 5 days has versus 6 0r 7 days but I do know me and I know that rest is essential for me being able to stick with it.

Third, I would say that I’m averaging somewhere between 80 – 85% clean and 15 – 20% relaxed (ie. alcohol, sweets, food that isn’t “clean”).

Fourth, I have for the most part sustained the diet, in large part because of ID Life. I really enjoy the meal replacement shakes for breakfast.  I add the energy drink mix I look forward to them.  If I happen to eat breakfast (I do every Sunday with my family), I look forward to it for lunch.  I can honestly say that I have never been a fan of meal replacement shakes because I really like to eat and chew.  It was one of my biggest reservations about trying ID Life but I have been pleasantly surprised.  But I think what has been most beneficial for me are the supplements.  You take an assessment to get a personalized plan as to what supplements you should be taking – at the end, it gives you a basic package and then also some enhancements that you can add.  What’s nice is it tells you why they are suggesting those things so you can make a determination for yourself whether you want to add them or not.  I opted for some of the enhancements and not others.  I don’t know if it’s the fact that you aren’t deficient in anything so your body maintains a better balance so that you don’t eat from a reactionary place or if it’s all in my head but my cravings have all but been eliminated and I (and my friends that are taking ID Life with me) attribute this more to the supplements than the meal replacement shakes.

Fifth, for the first six weeks I lost right around 20″!  Thrilled beyond belief with my success.  I have been able to kick start my weight loss by adding in balanced snacks at 10:00 and 3:00ish each day.  I am trying to do some protein and carb pairing in my snacks.  In the week since I started doing it, I lost 4 pounds.

I’m really glad I made changes to my diet first before starting with the exercise.  That way I didn’t get overwhelmed.

Please feel free to offer any suggestions or support you may have!  I know I have a long way to go but I’m really excited by how fast these changes have been made! 🙂  Between the visual difference and how much better I feel, I think I’ve finally found something that works for me!

 

Leave a Reply

