And so it begins…2017 and the Whole 30

Bob and I have decided to start 2017 with a new health and fitness routine…how original.

Phase I:  I bought the The Whole30: The 30-Day Guide to Total Health and Food Freedom and The Whole30 Cookbook: 150 Delicious and Totally Compliant Recipes to Help You Succeed with the Whole30 and Beyond and a Gourmet GJ1250 Juicer.  We have a few friends who have done this and lost a lot of weight so we’re going to give it a shot.

This is intended to be more of a “reset” than a diet but it is extremely restrictive so I’m not quite sure how we will pull this off.  Especially since Bob is not big on fruits or vegetables.  And as far as I go, I’m hoping the recipes are on the simple side so I can eat more than raw vegetables.  Hopefully at least one of the books I bought comes with a shopping list so that I can get spices and things upfront.

I looked at a couple of recipes and they don’t seem too complicated but some of the ingredients are pretty specialized and I’m just not even sure where you buy those kinds of things.  From different groups I’ve joined, I see that a lot of people shop at Aldis.   We also have Trader Joes, Whole Foods and Central Market here in Dallas so we should be able to find everything we need.

I know that meal prepping is going to be key and that’s also going to be my biggest struggle – just finding a window of time to make that all happen – but I really NEED this to work so I’m really going to give it a shot.  I worked on being more efficient at work all year in 2016 and made a lot of progress.  Now I’m going to have to bring that into the kitchen.

My plan is to get used to this way of prepping and cooking during the 30 days and then ease into a less restrictive version of this after.  I went ahead and bought 2 other cookbooks at the same time so that I am ready when the 30 days are up.

Phase II will be stepping up my exercise routine.  I bought us both a Fitbit Blaze Smart Fitness Watch, Black, Silver, Large.  I like that it tracks your sleep and that you can track your water intake and stuff like that but truth be told that’s a little more high tech than what I’m capable of at this moment so I’m just using it to track steps.  I knew I wasn’t really moving around a lot during the day but I really had no idea how little it was.  Truth really does hurt.  It also really drives home how critical it is for me to watch my diet to offset some of that inactivity.  But it’s also motivating me to take some 5 – 10 minute breaks throughout the day to get up and walk around.

Wish us luck!  I hope you will follow our journey and share tips and recipes that you like.   I know the Whole 30 isn’t for everyone and I have some reservations myself so we’ll see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

